Design Day at Shady lane

Distinguished Service Award

The Menomonee Falls Board of Education established the “Distinguished Service Award” in 2002 to honor those individuals who have given graciously of their time and talents over a number of years to the improvement of the School District of Menomonee Falls and the community as a whole.

Given only once a year, the “Distinguished Service Award” is the highest honor the Board of Education bestows on members of the community.

The recipients of this award are community members, educators, or other individuals who have made significant contributions to the School District of Menomonee Falls students and staff, or the Menomonee Falls community as a whole.

Modeled after James Hollenhorst, who was the first recipient of the award, the honor is presented to an individual who has given freely and graciously to the support of the School District of Menomonee Falls’ goals and whose efforts have helped improve student learning and professional development for District staff.

The “Distinguished Service Award” is awarded to those individuals or organizations who have proven to be leaders in bringing about positive and meaningful educational change.


Past Recipients

2002 - Jim Hollenhorst
2003 - Joe Greco, Sr.
2004 - Marie Leekley
2005 - Sandy Swanson
2006 - Scholarship and Education Foundation
2007 - Dick Woosencraft
2008 - Harry Goetz
2009 - Sid Truckenbrod
2011 - Cathy Hazzard
2012 - Amy Ignasiak
2013 - Optimist Club
2014 - Jim Jeskewitz
2015 - Community Memorial Hospital & Menomonee Falls Rotary Club
2016 - Bob & Pat WIllie and MFPD
2017 - Menomonee Falls Little League & Menomonee Falls Food Pantry
2018 - Dave Petroff, Marty Schallock & Harvey Neu